Selective Laser Melting

Layer by layer on the way to the functional workpiece

Selective Laser Melting (SLM™) is a generative production method in which the desired components are produced directly from 3D data. Based on the data at hand (standard format STL), even highly complex parts can be produced from different metallic materials.

With the SLM™ method, the workpiece is constructed in a three-dimensional layer structure. To accomplish this, the metal is applied in thin layers of very fine powder and, using a laser beam, melted onto those areas where the workpiece will be developed. Depending on the surface quality and production speed requirements, the powder is automatically applied with layer thicknesses of 20 to 100 µm. In the following step, a powerful fibre laser selectively melts the designated areas. Sharp focusing provides the laser beam with a very high power density by which the material is melted in a very precise manner. Thus, workpieces with an absolute density can be produced with wall thicknesses from 40 µm on up.

So funktioniert SLM

When the melting process is finished for the particular layer, the platform is lowered by the respective thickness, and another layer of powder can be applied. The workpiece is fabricated layer by layer in this manner. The duration of the process, which takes place in closed inert gas atmosphere, is dependent on the amount of material used and the number of layers – rather than the complexity of the component.

The layer structure facilitates the production of highly complex lattice or honeycomb structures, which cannot be produced using other methods. With the SLM™ process, the material is therefore only built up where required by the intended use and future strain requirements. One of the benefits here is for example the minimization of weight due to the optimized material usage.

Components of absolute impermeability and mechanically heavy duty quality are produced by means of SLM™, the material properties of which nearly equal those of conventionally produced components. Depending on the intended use and just like the conventionally produced components, they can be reworked using any other method.

This is what makes SLM™ technology a sensible alternative…

  • When a functional metal component has to be produced from three-dimensional construction data in the shortest possible time. SLM™ makes prototypes available using the CAD draft and without any lengthy detour via toolmaking. This process is not only faster, but also the most economic way to generate a perfectly functional sample.
  • When, for example, complex components with very complicated hollow or lattice structures cannot be manufactured or only manufactured by utilizing very complex methods using conventional processes. SLM™ technology, unlike other methods, still only affects the cost marginally when considering the complexity of the component to be produced.
  • When only a limited number or unique pieces are to be produced.

4 comments on “Selective Laser Melting”

  1. Pingback: roofing

  2. Pingback: GVK BIO

  3. Pingback: best seedbox

  4. Pingback: Pendaftaran CPNS Kemenkumham

Comments are closed.

Selective Laser Melting

Schicht für Schicht zum funktionsfähigen Werkstück

Selective Laser Melting (SLM™) ist ein generatives Produktionsverfahren, bei der das gewünschte Bauteil direkt aus 3D-Daten produziert wird. Anhand vorliegender Daten (Standardformat STL) lassen sich hochkomplexe Teile aus unterschiedlichen metallischen Werkstoffen herstellen.

Mit dem SLM™-Verfahren wird das Werkstück schichtweise dreidimensional aufgebaut. Dafür wird das Metall in sehr feiner Pulverform in Schichten (Layer) aufgetragen und durch den Laserstrahl dort geschmolzen, wo das Werkstück entstehen soll. Je nach Anforderung an Oberflächengüte und Fertigungsgeschwindigkeit wird das Pulver in Schichtdicken zwischen 20 und 100 µm automatisch aufgetragen. Anschließend schmelzt ein leistungsfähiger Faserlaser die vorgesehenen Bereiche selektiv auf. Die starke Fokussierung verleiht dem Laserstrahl eine sehr hohe Leistungsdichte, mit der das Material absolut präzise durchgeschmolzen wird. So lassen sich hundertprozentig dichte Werkstücke mit Wandstärken ab 40 µm (SLM 50) erzeugen.

So funktioniert SLM

Ist der Schmelzvorgang für die Schicht abgeschlossen, senkt sich die Plattform um die jeweilige Schichtstärke ab, damit eine weitere Pulverschicht aufgetragen werden kann. So wird das Werkstück Schicht für Schicht hergestellt. Die Dauer des Prozesses, der in einer geschlossenen Inertgas-Atmosphäre (Argon) abläuft, ist dabei abhängig von der Menge des eingesetzten Materials und der Anzahl der Schichten – nicht von der Komplexität des Bauteils.

Der schichtweise Aufbau macht es möglich, auch hochkomplexe Gitter- oder Wabenstrukturen entstehen zu lassen, die mit anderen Verfahren nicht herstellbar sind. Mit dem SLM™-Verfahren wird das Material also ausschließlich da aufgebaut, wo es der vorgesehene Einsatz und die zukünftige Beanspruchung erfordern. So lässt sich durch einen optimierten Materialeinsatz unter anderem das Gewicht minimieren.

Mit Selective Laser Melting (SLM™) werden hundertprozentig dichte, mechanisch hochbelastbare Teile produziert, deren Materialeigenschaften denen konventionell hergestellter Teile fast gleichen. Wie die konventionell hergestellten Teile können sie je nach Einsatzzweck mit jedem anderen Verfahren beliebig nachbearbeitet werden.

SLM™-Technologie ist also eine sinnvolle Alternative, …

  • wenn aus dreidimensionalen Konstruktionsdaten in kürzester Zeit ein funktionsfähiges Metall-Bauteil hergestellt werden soll. Mit Selective Laser Melting (SLM™) stehen Prototypen eines Serienteils ohne den langwierigen Umweg über den Werkzeugbau direkt aus dem CAD-Entwurf zur Verfügung. Das Verfahren ist hier nicht nur die sehr viel schnellere, sondern oft auch die kostengünstigste Möglichkeit, ein uneingeschränkt funktionsfähiges Muster zu generieren.
  • wenn komplexe Bauteile beispielsweise mit komplizierten Hohl- oder Gitterstrukturen, mit konventionellen Verfahren gar nicht oder nur sehr aufwändig hergestellt werden können. Dabei wirkt sich bei der SLM™-Technologie die Komplexität des zu fertigenden Bauteils anders als bei anderen Verfahren kaum auf die Kosten aus.
  • wenn sehr kleine Stückzahlen oder individuelle Einzelstücke produziert werden sollen.
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien